Who we are

We have a steering group who meet up every few months and set the agenda for the group. Between us we represent clinical, education and research interests. Core members are:

Chair – Mel Ferguson – Research lead/ Clinical Scientist, NIHR, Nottingham Hearing Biomedical Research Unit

Vice Chair – Jane Wild – Consultant Clinical Scientist, Wrexham

Secretary – Laura Turton – BSA Operations Manager / NHS Audiologist, Warwick

Sheetal Athalye – Audiology Services Lead / Research, The Ear Foundation

Aarti Makan – Deputy Head of Adult Audiology, London

Judith Bird – Clinical Scientist, Cambridge

Elaine Clifford – Senior Audiological Scientist working in the private sector, Crewe

Ann-Marie Hawkins – NHS Audiologist, Coventry

Lorraine Gailey – CEO Hearing Link

Sarah Hughes – Speech and Language Therapist / Researcher, Bridgend

Suad Hashim – NHS Audiologist, Warwick

Keith Stiff – Oticon, Regional NHS Manager

Julie Simms – Hearing Therapist / Lipreading Teacher, Norfolk

Yvonne Noon – Clinical Coordinator, Advanced Bionics

Wendy Stevens – Senior Lecturer, De Montfort University

Chris Wood – Health Policy Manager, Action on Hearing Loss


We also have a group of ‘reference’ members who have expressed willingness to be consulted about particular projects.